Skip to main content

What is ephemera?

ephemera is an independent open access journal founded in 2001. ephemera provides its content free of charge, and charges its readers only with free thought.


ephemera encourages contributions that explicitly engage with theoretical and conceptual understandings of organizational issues, organizational processes and organizational life. This does not preclude empirical studies or commentaries on contemporary issues, but such contributions consider how theory and practice intersect in these cases. We especially publish articles that apply or develop theoretical insights that are not part of the established canon of organization studies. ephemera counters the current hegemonization of social theory and operates at the borders of organization studies in that it continuously seeks to question what organization studies is and what it can become.


ephemera encourages the amplification of the political problematics of organization within academic debate, which today is being actively de-politicized by the current organization of thought within and without universities and business schools. We welcome papers that engage the political in a variety of ways as required by the organizational forms being interrogated in a given instance.


Articles published in ephemera are concerned with theoretical and political aspects of organizations, organization and organizing. We refrain from imposing a narrow definition of organization, which would unnecessarily halt debate. Eager to avoid the charge of ‘anything goes’ however, we do invite our authors to state how their contributions connect to questions of organization and organizing, both theoretical and practical.

Editorial collective

Bernadette Loacker
Birke Otto
Christos Giotitsas
Chris Barton
Ekaterina Chertkovskaya
Emil Husted
Emilie Hesselbo
Hannah Grün
Justine Grønbæk Pors
Jette Sandager
Karolina Mikołajewska-Zając
Lena Olaison
Lisa Conrad
Lisa Wiedemann
Marton Racz
Mie Plotnikof
Nick Butler
Ozan Nadir Alakavuklar
Randi Heinrichs
Rowland Curtis
Yousaf Nishat-Botero
Yousra Rahmouni Elidrissi


Alessia Contu
Alf Rehn 
André Spicer
Anna-Maria Murtola
Armin Beverungen
Bent Meier Sørensen
Campbell Jones
Casper Hoedemaekers
Chris Land
Damian O'Doherty
Emma Jeanes
Helen Delaney
Joanna Figiel
Kate Kenny
Katie Sullivan
Kenneth Weir
Konstantin Stoborod
Martyna Śliwa
Matthew Allen
Michael Pedersen
Peter Svensson
Rashné Limki
Ruud Kaulingfreks
Samantha Warren
Sara Louise Muhr
Steffen Böhm
Stephen Dunne
Stevphen Shukaitis
Sverre Spoelstra


ephemera is supported by individual donors and academic institutions. We currently receive funding from the University Library of Bern (Switzerland), the Department of Management, Politics and Philosophy at Copenhagen Business School (Denmark), and the Centre for Digital Cultures at Leuphana University Lüneburg (Germany). If you wish to support ephemera, please click on the donate button or send an email to editors AT



All Issues